This isn’t going to be one of my normal blog posts, I just wanted to tell everyone viewing my page to have a Happy Thanksgiving! I hope that you all get to spend quality time with your loved ones. If you don’t get the chance to go home or see your loved ones, like many of the men and women in the armed forces, I’m sending some of my own Thanksgiving love to you!

Since this is of course a blog about all things marketing, PR, communications, etc. let me leave you with an interesting Thanksgiving Day fact. For most Americans, what makes Thanksgiving dinner special is the Turkey. But how did it become such a large part of the Thanksgiving tradition? It is widely surmised that the pilgrims did not eat turkey, instead they most likely ate lobster or venison. Turkey did not appear on Thanksgiving tables until the 1860s. It was not until World War II that it became the traditional dish it is today. This was due to the poultry industry’s aggressive marketing and development of larger hybrid turkeys, making the “turkey into a symbol of American abundance” (more info).

Enjoy that Turkey!

